TV & Movies

Disney dominates the 48th Annie Awards as 'Soul' wins Best Feature

During difficult times for the entertainment industry, there is still hope as the Annie Awards celebrate the most important achievements in animation in 2020

By Miguel Robles

- April 16 , 2021 - 19:12 hs

Soul (Disney)

Every year, the International Animated Film Association holds the now famous Annie Awards. Even though the ceremony is focused on granting awards to the most important achievements in animation of the year, it has become a very influential event ahead of the Oscar votings. Now, the last year has been an atypical for the entertainment industry, so a lot of things have changed. Major events, and award ceremonies have been pushed back to later dates than usual, making an interesting assortment of outcomes.

This year's Annie Awards had Soul and Wolfwalkers as the leading films of the list, with 10 nominations each. Also, both movies are nominated for the Oscars 2021; undoubtedly, an achievement on itself for these films, especially in difficult year in which all movie theaters shut down all over the country due to the pandemic.

Read more: Harrison Ford and Brad Pitt has been added to the Oscars 2021 telecast

Cartoon Saloon

Last year, Netflix's Klaus was the absolute winner taking home every one of the 7 nominations the film received, but ultimately went on to lose against Toy Story 4 in the 92nd Academy Awards. The 2D animated holiday film was directed by Sergio Pablos. This year, Disney is on the run again with two films competing for Best Animated Feature: Onward and Soul.

On the other hand, the fantasy adventure film Wolfwalkers, has proven to be one of the most acclaimed films of the year. This is the third and final installment in Tomm Moore's “Irish Folklore Trilogy”, following his previous films 'The Secret of Kells' (2009), and 'Song of the Sea' (2014). Wolfwalkers was released digitally on AppleTV+ on December 11, 2020 to critical praise. Here's the complete breakdown of the winners, ranging from episodic, theatrical and commercial animation.

Best Feature

Soul; Pixar Animation Studios

Best Indie Feature

Wolfwalkers, Apple/GKIDS

Best Special Production

The Snail and the Whale, Magic Light Pictures

Best Short Subject

Souvenir Souvenir, Blast Production

Best Sponsored

There's a Monster in my Kitchen, Cartoon Saloon, Mother

Best TV/Media - Preschool

The Adventures of Paddington Episode: Paddington Digs a Tunnel to Peru, Blue-Zoo Animation Studio and Nickelodeon Animation Studio

Best TV/Media - Children

Hilda Episode: Chapter 9: The Deerfox, Silvergate Media for Netflix

Best TV/Media - General Audience

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal Episode: Coven Of The Damned, Cartoon Network Studios

Best Student Film

La Bestia, Student director: Marlijn Van Nuenen, Ram Tamez, Alfredo Gerard Kuttikatt School: Gobelins, l'école de l'image

Best FX for TV/Media

Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous Episode: Welcome to Jurassic World, DreamWorks Animation, Emad Khalili, Ivan Wang

Best FX for Feature

Soul, Tolga Göktekin, Carl Kaphan, Hiroaki Narita, Enrique Vila, Kylie Wijsmuller

Best Character Animation - TV/Media

Hilda, Silvergate Media for Netflix, David Laliberté

Best Character Animation - Feature

Soul, Michal Makarewicz

Best Character Animation - Live Action

The Mandalorian, Production Company: Lucasfilm, FX Production Company: Image Engine, Nathan Fitzgerald, Leo Ito, Chris Rogers, Eung Ho Lo, Emily Luk

Best Character Animation - Video Game

Marvel's Spider-Man Miles Morales, Insomniac Games, Brian Wyser, Michael Yosh, Danny Garnett, David Hancock

Best Character Design - TV/Media

Amphibia Episode: The Shut-In!, Disney TV Animation, Joe Sparrow

Best Character Design - Feature

Wolfwalkers, Federico Pirovano

Best Direction - TV/Media

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal "Plague Of Madness," Genndy Tartakovsky

Best Direction - Feature

Wolfwalkers, Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart

Best Music - TV/Media

Star Wars; the Clone Wars: "Victory and Death," Lucasfilm Animation Kevin Kiner

Best Music - Feature

Soul, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste

Best Production Design - TV/Media

Shoom's Odyssey, Picolo Pictures, Julien Bisaro,

Best Production Design - Feature

Wolfwalkers, María Pareja, Ross Stewart, Tomm Moore

Best Storyboarding - TV/Media

Looney Tunes Cartoons, Warner Bros. Animation, Andrew Dickman

Best Storyboarding - Feature

Soul, Trevor Jimenez

Best Voice Acting - TV/Media

Tales of Arcadia: Wizards, "Our Final Act," DreamWorks Animation, David Bradley (Merlin)

Best Voice Acting - Feature

Wolfwalkers, Eva Whittaker (Mebh Óg MacTíre)

Best Writing - TV/Media

Big Mouth "The New Me," Netflix, Andrew Goldberg, Patti Harrison, Andrew Goldberg

Best Writing - Feature

Soul, Pete Docter, Mike Jones, Kemp Powers

Best Editorial - TV/Media

Hilda Episode: Chapter 9: The Deerfox, John McKinnon

Read more: Björk's iconic swan dress is still a fashion icon 20 years later

Best Editorial - Feature

Soul, Kevin Nolting, Gregory Amundson, Robert Grahamjones, Amera Rizk

Did you get to see the winner-animated films of the year?

Yes 0%
No 0%
Follow us

In this Story

Miguel Robles

I began my journey as a journalist 15 years ago, when I started as a staff writer for OPEN Magazine. I was able to escalate up to the point of becoming the editor in chief of the magazine. Always adjusting to cope with changes in the industry. Trying to make strong connections with the people, and bringing voice to minorities through storytelling.

Ver más

Get all the news in your email

The latest on celebrity gossip, entertainment news and lifestyle.

You must complete your e-mail You must complete a correct email
You are already subscribed to our newsletter. You will soon receive news in your email.

Subscribing implies accepting our Terms and Conditions

More on TV & Movies